Shane Lowry takes 2-stroke penalty
Digest more
Former champion Shane Lowry says his Open Championship at Royal Portrush has been "hard to take" after a shooting three over in his third round on Saturday.
Shane Lowry was not at all happy with the judges' decision to award him a two-stroke penalty during the second round of the Open Championship.
Irish golfer Shane Lowry said he feared being “slaughtered” on social media if he did not accept the two-stroke penalty he received at The Open Championship on Friday.
Shane Lowry was given a two-stroke penalty after the second round of the Open Championship at Royal Portrush Golf Club on Friday. Lowry was determined to have caused his ball to move while taking a practice swing in the rough ahead of his second shot on the par-5 12th hole.
The most stinging thing that can happen to a golfer, especially in the heat of a major, is a penalty that rewrites their scorecard. On Friday at Royal Portrush, Shane Lowry felt that sting in full force.
Explore more
Shane Lowry has been assessed a two-shot penalty for his golf ball moving in the rough on the 12th hole of the British Open.
6h
Irish Mirror on MSNShane Lowry spent Open third round trying to throw up after picking up a virusShane Lowry felt like puking all the way through a tough third round at The Open in Portrush today. A virus made it's way through the rented Lowry house in the county Antrim seaside town this week before finally affecting the winner of the 2019 Open at this venue.
7h
Irish Star on MSNRyder Cup captain calls for change after Shane Lowry treated 'harshly' at Open ChampionshipPaul McGinley believes the rules of golf need to change after Shane Lowry was slapped with a "harsh" two-shot penalty after his second round at The Open Championship
Shane Lowry was caught in a foul-mouthed rant during the second round of The Open at Royal Portrush – before being handed a two-stroke penalty. The Irishman has been looking to win his